Reservation and Customer Service Center Help Desk will be closed from 14-Sep-2019. For enquiries, please call 2788-1638 or email [email protected]. For Mei Ho House Youth Hostel enquiries, please call 3728-3500 or email [email protected]. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

×

A CANADIAN BIKING ADVENTURE: TOP 5 CYCLING ROUTES
BITS OF CANADA THAT YOU MAY NOT KNOW

2014-09-22
  • Share to:

Snow, snow, sun breakthrough, a flower and poof! New snowfall. Here in Canada summer can seem like a mirage. So to enjoy the maximum amount of sun, why not change up your travel destination? Many of our hostels are close to exceptional cycling routes that will make you see the world like no highway can do. Here are our top 5 bike routes in Canada!

1. SEASIDE BIKE ROUTE | VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA

This bikeway is the best way to combine a visit to downtown Vancouver and a nature getaway. The journey begins in the port and goes to Stanley Park. If you want a quick 9k route, you can go all the way around the Seawall. The trail then continues on the other side of the peninsula from the city center and along English Bay into False Creek and Granville Island. Without ever leaving the coast, you can then ride to Kitsilano Beach and Jericho Beach for a well deserved dip in the Pacific!

 

2. ICEFIELDS PARKWAY | ALBERTA

The Icefields Parkway is 232 km through rocky mountains, turquoise lakes, glaciers and the valleys carved by them. The road is dotted with scenic lookouts that offer breathtaking views, and en route, it’s impossible not to cross wild animals. In addition, trucks are prohibited and traffic is limited to 90 km/h.  The trip will take you three days if you are a seasoned cyclist, and five days including photo stops. The road goes through the national parks of Banff and Jasper where you can sleep at many HI wilderness hostels!

3. NIAGARA VALLEY | ONTARIO

Crossing the Niagara Valley by bike gives a chance to really enjoy the vineyards you will cross on the road. From Fort Erie on Lake Erie, the Greater Niagara Circle Route takes you along the Niagara River to Niagara Falls, where you can stop and see the falls and have a festive barbecue at the hostel then continues along the river to the picturesque village of Niagara-on-the Lake. The trail then turns to reach St. Catharines before returning to Port Colborne, on Lake Erie, along the Welland Canal.

4. PETITE-NATION AND LA LIÈVRE | QUEBEC

The region of the Petite-Nation and La Lièvre give you no fewer than 14 bike tours to explore the region. The routes vary in length (between 20 and 70 km) and difficulty and go through rivers, lakes, forests and countryside. From there, you can make the connection with the Montreal-Ottawa portion of the Route verte the large province-wide cycling network of 5,000 km. The crux of all these circuits: HI-Petite-Nation for a peaceful night or a concert in their coffee bar full of charm. The hostel offers 10% discount on accommodation if you stay there two nights or more!

5. CONFEDERATION TRAIL | PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND
Formerly, there was a railway on the island. Today, it’s a bike path that runs through its center, from one end to the other: the Confederation Trail which branches to the Confederation Bridge, Charlottetown, the Brudenell River provincial Park and the town of Souris, where you can take ferry to the Islands-la-Madeleine. If it is rather the countless bays and red sand beaches that call you, bike lanes are arranged along all coastal roads that circle the island.

P.S. Already planning for your trip to Canada? Click here for the exclusive membership benefits!

Article from YHA Canada

因应最新疫情,美荷楼生活馆将于1月28日起暂停开放,直至另行通知,详情请参阅网页通告

×

遨游加拿大: 5大热门自行车路线
你或許不知道的加拿大

2014-09-22
  • 分享至:

南生围、大围到大尾笃、将军澳,这些香港热门自行车路线开始觉得玩闷了吗?这次带你去世界另一端的加拿大,欣赏一下人家的「自行车路」。

下雪下雪再下雪,好不容易等到阳光出来了,花儿开始萌芽,然后抬头一看,噢!又下雪了! 加拿大的夏天短之又短,每年都像是昙花一现,和香港日复日的桑拿式折磨完全是天渊之别。短暂的东西当然就更可贵、更值得珍惜啦,所以我说,当地人特别懂得享受夏天的阳光。下面是5条枫叶国民专业推介的自行车路线,万勿错过!

1. 海旁段 | 温哥华,卑诗省 (VANCOUVER, BRITISH COLUMBIA)

到温哥华旅行的朋友要注意啦,这条海旁段自行車路号称是连接城市和郊区的最佳路线。路线起点在码头,一直伸延到士丹利公园 (Stanley Park)。如果想选一段短程的9公里路线,就可以选择沿着堤坝走,顺道欣赏迷人海景。之后的路程会在半岛的另一端,沿着英吉利湾 (English Bay) 进入福溪小内湾(False Creek),还有固兰湖岛 (Granville Island),更可驶到全球排名第六的基次蓝诺沙滩 (Kitsilano Beach) 或杰里科海滩公园 (Jericho Beach),在太平洋畅泳一番。

2. 冰原公路 | 埃布尔达省 (ALBERTA)

冰原公路 (Icefields Parkway) 全长232 公里,沿路上山下坡,穿越崇山峻岭、澄蓝的湖泊、壮观的冰川,还有高高低低的山谷,不但风景怡人,更令人惊喜的就是随时会遇到神出鬼没的野外动物!你或者会担心公路安全,但请放心,这里货车是禁驶的,而且根据规定,公路时速限于每小时90公里。有经验的骑单车人士,三天就可以完成整条路线,如果加上拍照的停顿位,五天内也能完成。中途还会经过位于班夫市 (Banff) 和贾斯珀市 (Jasper) 的国家公园,也可以在附近的郊区旅舍留宿。

3. 尼亚加拉谷 | 安大略省(ONTARIO)

踏车横跨尼亚加拉谷(Niagara Valley),将会让你真真正正的感受酒庄风情。尼亚加拉环回路线,带你从伊利湖(Lake Erie)上的伊利堡镇(Fort Erie),沿着尼亚加拉河,到达有名的尼亚加拉大瀑布。旅者可以下车感受无与伦比的震撼,再于旁边的旅舍享受烧烤乐,之后重新踏上自行车,向童话式的尼亚加拉湖畔小镇进发。旅程末段,还会经过「花园城市」圣凯瑟琳斯 (St. Catharines),最后才回到终点科尔本港(Port Colborne)。

4. PETITE-NATION AND LA LIÈVRE | 魁北克省

Petite-Nation and La Lièvre  地区最少有14条自行车路线,当中有长有短(20-70公里不等)、难度各异,穿越河流、湖泊、森林和郊野,适合不同类型的骑车人士。这里更可接驳到全长5000公里的绿色之路(Route verte),让你挑战体能极限。旅程重头戏是在特色Petite-Nation 旅舍留宿一宵,玩尽附近的漂流、登山径、雪橇(冬天)、越野滑雪(冬天),感受大自然的魅力,或者在他们气氛十足的café里参与一场加式音乐会,与本地人交流互动。住宿两晚以上,还可享九折优惠!

5. 联邦观景小道 | 爱德华王子岛省(PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND)

从前,岛上曾经有一条铁路,不过时至今日,它已被改建成一条贯穿小岛两端的自行车路,名为联邦观景小道 (The Confederation Trail) 。这条单车径直通联邦大桥 (The Confederation Bridge)、夏洛特敦市(Charlottetown)、布鲁德尼尔河省立公园 (The Brudenell River provincial Park) 和Souris 小镇(可从镇上换乘小船到美丽小岛Islands-la-Madeleine)。如果你比较钟情浪漫的海湾和红沙滩,可以选择沿着岸边环岛一圈,细味海浪的律动节奏。

P.S. 已经在计划你的加拿大行程? 快按此查看会员独家优惠啦!

文章转载自加拿大YHA